Pet Shop Boys: Introspective/Further listening: 1988-1989

Introspective/Further listening: 1988-1989

Pet Shop Boys

  • US $15.99  

  • Release Date 02 March 2018
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Double CD Album

Pet Shop Boys’ 1988 release ‘Introspective’. This album has sold over 4.5 million copies worldwide to date and was the first to feature production by Trevor Horn, whose lavish orchestrations marked a new sonic direction for PSB. House Music legend, Frankie Knuckles created the mix of “I want a dog” while “Domino dancing” was recorded in Miami with hit producer Lewis Martinée.
‘Introspective’ also saw Pet Shop Boys introduce a new approach to the format of an album and its respective singles: each of the 6 tracks on the album’s original track-listing is over six minutes in length, and they were later edited to fit the more traditional format of a seven-inch single. “The idea was to have an album where every track was a single. And in fact five out of the six of them were, because ‘I’m not scared’ was a single for Patsy Kensit, or rather for her group Eighth Wonder”, says Neil Tennant.
This ‘Catalogue’ re-issue features, along with the newly-remastered original album, bonus material such as demo versions of ‘Don Juan’ and ‘Domino dancing’, seven-inch and disco mixes of ‘Losing my mind’ and Left to my own devices’.

Packaged with an extensive booklet in which Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe discuss each song, illustrated with many archive photographs. The entire project is designed by Farrow.

1 Left to My Own Devices  
2 I Want a Dog  
3 Domino Dancing  
4 I'm Not Scared  
5 Always On My Mind / In My House  
6 It's Alright  
1 I Get Excited (You Get Excited Too)  
2 Don Juan (Demo Version)  
3 Domino Dancing (Demo Version)  
4 Domino Dancing (Alternate Version)  
5 The Sound of the Atom Splitting  
6 What Keeps Mankind Alive?  
7 Don Juan (Disco Mix)  
8 Losing My Mind (Disco Mix)  
9 Nothing Has Been Proved (Demo for Dusty)  
10 So Sorry, I Said (Demo for Liza)  
11 Left to My Own Devices (7'' Mix)  
12 It's Alright (10'' Version)  
13 One of the Crowd  
14 It's Alright (7'' Version)  
15 Your Funny Uncle