Pet Shop Boys: Very/Further listening: 1992–1994

Very/Further listening: 1992–1994

Pet Shop Boys

  • US $15.99  

  • Release Date 31 August 2018
  • In Stock
Product code
Double CD Album

The 1993 album ‘Very’ was a number one record for Pet Shop Boys in the UK, Germany, Sweden and Switzerland, and has to date sold in excess of five million copies worldwide. It contains 5 singles, including their cover of ‘Go West’ – a number 2 hit for PSB – and lead single ‘Can you forgive her?’.

Stylistically, ‘Very’ could be said to serve as an antithesis to ‘Behaviour’, insofar as the production and lyrical themes are generally more upbeat and positive than those of the previous album. Visually, too, PSB reinvented their image to incorporate more vivid colours and brightness, including Very’s now-iconic “Lego” album cover. The album is also the first to be produced almost entirely by Pet Shop Boys themselves - with additional programming and production courtesy of Pete Gleadall and Stephen Hague. This ‘Catalogue’ issue of ‘Very’ includes a Further listening disc of bonus material, such as the previously-unreleased tracks ‘Falling’ (a demo for Kylie Minogue), and a 1992 twelve-inch mix of ‘Go West’.

1 Can you forgive her?  
2 I wouldn’t normally do this kind of thing  
3 Liberation  
4 A different point of view  
5 Dreaming of the Queen  
6 Yesterday, when I was mad  
7 The theatre  
8 One and one make five  
9 To speak is a sin  
10 Young offender  
11 One in a million  
12 Go West  
1 Go West (1992 twelve-inch mix)  
2 Forever in love  
3 Confidential (demo for Tina)  
4 Hey, headmaster  
5 Shameless  
6 Too many people  
7 I wouldn’t normally do this kind of thing (seven-inch version)  
8 Violence (Haçienda version)  
9 Falling (demo for Kylie)  
10 Decadence  
11 If love were all  
12 Absolutely fabulous (single version)  
13 Euroboy  
14 Some speculation  
15 Yesterday, when I was mad (single version)  
16 Girls and boys (live in Rio)